The management of the affairs of the institute is conducted by the Governing Council consisting of 35 members. The Chairman of the Railway Board is its President, two Members of the Railway Board its Vice-Presidents , Senior Officers of the Railway Board, its Secretary, Joint Secretary and Treasurer. The Governing Council also has three past Presidents. Other members of the Governing Council consist of GMs of the nine Zonal Railways, DG/RDSO, General Managers of Railway Production Units and retired senior officers of the Railways and senior officers of the Railway Board. The Governing Council Members are elected once in two years at the Annual General Meeting held normally during December every year.